Music Collecting: 10th June 2013

yessongs

It hasn’t been long since I did the last one of these, but I had a new vinyl arrive literally a day or two after I posted the last set, and since that was already a massive list of things I decided to wait, and luckily some vinyl was given to me to justify another post! I was handed a bundle of records which a kind soul had duplicates of and so knowing I’m still getting my vinyl sea legs handed them my way, and it’s a really cool bundle of records. The only one I’ve had a chance to listen to so far is the one pictured above, Yessongs, a triple vinyl live album, which opens with Siberian Khatru and Heart Of The Sunrise, two of my favourite Yes songs. Certainly made my Sunday a little less miserable! In amongst the others are The Who’s Quadrophenia and Yes’ Tales from Topographic Oceans, two albums I’ve tried to listen to before and never quite gotten my head around. I’m wondering if it’ll be like Who’s Next, which I owned on CD for months and months, never quite getting a handle on what makes it so great, until I managed to get a vinyl copy, where I was able to put it on and actively listen to and enjoy it.

The other vinyl I got was something I ordered a long time ago, but it was out of stock on Amazon for so long I almost forgot I ordered it when they dispatched it. I had ordered it originally because it was listed for £5.50, which was even cheaper than the CD version, but I’m so glad I did because I happened to pick up The Dillinger Escape Plan’s next album, One of Us Is The Killer, and enjoyed it massively, so for a vinyl copy of Option Paralysis to turn up a few days later was great timing.

dillinger

Luckily it actually came with a digital copy which still worked, so I’ve been able to put the album on my iPod to listen to, and it sounds like a great album, but it’s overshadowed by the new album, which along with the new Daft Punk album is absolutely one of my favourites of the year so far.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment